i triple-dog-dare ya!

‘A Christmas Story’

‘A Christmas Story’: the coup de grace of all dares, the sinister triple-dog-dare

I should know by now any blog post written after midnight runs the risk of being utterly incoherent, but I’m too tired and excited to care. Over the next couple days–probably by the end of Monday–I’ll put the finishing touches on draft 6 of The Door to Yesterday and send it off to the last of my gentle readers.

Very briefly, I considered skipping this final round of beta-reading altogether because after more than three years, I just want to move forward and start querying. I’m aware of how nutty that sounds (bring on the rejection!) but I have faith in my lovely, imperfect little manuscript and in my heart, I believe somewhere out there is the agent who will see in it what I do. So, in the spirit of due diligence, I’m taking the time to get feedback on the rather substantial re-writes I did after my last round of beta-readers.

I’m cautiously optimistic that when this much smaller group of readers finishes, I can incorporate their feedback, polish a new draft, and at last be ready to begin the querying process. I did a lot of work on my pitch last year, utilizing the great advice I got from the Book Doctors during Pitchapalooza. It feels ready (although I’m sure I’ll look back at it someday and think, “What a mess.”)

Being this close to sending out queries, it’s starting to feel more real–even though I still have a long way to go. And I suppose this post is a sort of triple-dog-dare to myself to see it through.

Because I’ve already come this far.

This entry was posted in revising, The Door to Yesterday, Uncategorized, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

